WAKE THE FUCK UP AMERICA!


As a parent I want the best for my children. I want them to achieve more than I have. I want them to be fully equipped to take on the challenges ahead. The only lasting thing I can give them is an opportunity to get an education. The education they get will determine their ability to make a living and be productive citizens. Their education will help them avoid the pervasive scams in our society. The education I fight for them to attain will improve their ability to survive. I will continue to fight for their right to be given a competitive education. As such, I am proud to support the goals of common core. It seems I am among the minority of persons who believe that common core is a good thing for the American K-12 system.

The continued attempts to disparage the goals set reflects a fundamental misunderstanding of what education means. It is a reflection of how urgent the need for better education is. The problem is that most Americans know enough to complaint but not enough to assist in the fix. We are a very poorly educated society in spite of the graduated masses. We are a society that prefers quick answers rather than long processes. The truth is that getting the correct answer is less important that understanding how you arrive at it. Every time I see a story decrying the ills of common core I see another example of a parent or teacher who lacks the fundamental understanding of what education means. Our education is lacking and we cannot compete, but we want to go back to the old ways. The old ways have not worked. The old ways have created people who oppose change not because the change is bad, but because they are so poorly educated they do not understand the change.

 
Someone suggested to me a novel solution. The parents who do not want their children learning in the common core “way” should be allowed to go to their own schools and the rest of us learn a common core based education. That sounds great to me, but the truth is that the educated will continue to suffer at the hands of the stupid. Do not be stupid and destroy your kids ability to compete. If you want to disadvantage your child let me thank you now. Thanks for removing my childs competition.

Can we please wake the fuck up America.

Leave a Reply

