THEY ARE MY EVERYTHING.


My girls have the habit of walking up to me and saying “I love you dad”. It melts my heart every time. The first time it happened I was about to ask Sarah what she wanted, but she just gave me a hug and walked away. A few days later Samantha did the same and did not ask for a treat or anything else. It got me thinking, do I express my love for them enough? I hope I do. Each night that I put them to bed I tell them I love them. It as become routine. I give them a shower, help them brush their teeth, floss, listen to some music read a story and tell then, I love you. I then turn the lights out and sitting with them until they fall asleep. It is like clock work. It is my predictable routine.
Recently something has changed. I am not sure what. As I have been reviewing my large collection of pictures, of which they are the primary subjects, I can observe the change from birth to now. They have grown a lot without us noticing.
Most of all I have learned that my life would be much less rich without them. I love them not because they love me. I love them because they are my everything.

Leave a Reply

