WHAT IS YOUR ADDICTION?


Thanks to my parents watching the news was a required part of my childhood. I was that kid that hid the radio under his sheets and listened to talk radio. Still today I prefer to listen to talk radio. My day would be incomplete without watching the news. I would miss the rush of learning something new. The quest for knowledge was on going and veracious. I needed it like an addict. At least for many years I felt that way.

Looking back I am happy that knowledge was and continues to be my primary addiction. These days I have come to realize that I was never addicted to the news, but to the new knowledge presented. Sadly the news does not present much in inspiring new knowledge these days. So I have taken my quest for knowledge to the internet. It is now a DIY news world. I am loving it.  No need to wait for the news cast. I can go out there and find it whenever I need a fix. Yes, I need that fix often. We are all addicts.

I still crave the experience of sitting down in front of the TV with family and watching the evening news. I still want that experience, but I no longer can get the high. Maybe, it takes more for me to get high these days. I need the news to be as inspiring as I remember it being. Maybe my memory is flawed and the news has always been this shallow. But I need it to be more.

I am sure I am not the only one who has lost faith in the evening news.They do have a chance to recover their once unassailable statue. This will occur if newscasters become more credible. If they do more that parroting the words and show some depth. Give us more than 5 minutes on the important topics of the day. Give us the unfiltered truth. We do not need to know your opinion. Give us a full ad free newscast. Give me the context and let me decide. We are smarter than you give us credit for. Like an addict I still go back to the evening news expecting that high. I know it is not there, but I am an addict. I dream of the high. It will return. I am sure of it.
What is your addiction?

Leave a Reply

