WHAT CAN YOU SEE FROM YOUR WINDOW?


I am sitting with my girls eating a late lunch and looking out unto a beautiful sunny day. The sky is blue and the Florida fall temperature is just perfect. I can see the gentle waves on Lake Jackson. The many colors of nature are present and beautiful. The joy that can be had from the observation of nature is not often appreciated. I will need more years than current life expectancy to really appreciate the power of nature. We all need more time.

Happily I don’t need to go far to see and hear nature. From my window I can see eagles, hawks, owls, water birds, sandhill cranes and more. My night sky is not blocked out by city lights. I share my love of the night sky with my girls. There is only so much you can pass on to your children and the love of nature is at the top of my list. I want them to know that we are a part of something larger, that we are no better or worse. I want them to be responsible and protect nature in all her forms. Mostly I want them to understand that their actions matter.

We are connected to the world around us in ways we cannot and will not understand today, so we must protect it. If you do not realize the connection you have not truly observed nature. I want my girls to understand the science and philosophy of the world. We are not separate. We are equal. We are responsible and if we do not take our part in the chain seriously the link will break and we too will suffer.

What will your kids see out their window?

 

3 thoughts on “WHAT CAN YOU SEE FROM YOUR WINDOW?

  1. Hi! Your Blog is nice and very interesting.Thanks! I enjoy following your blog! I see you like nature and beauty. I’m an artist.
    I adore painting nature, my blog can be interesting for you. Sergey Gusev, painter.

Leave a Reply

